Best Drones Review : Syma Drones 2015 Collection Reviews

Newbies and professionals alike will adore Syma’s range of drone and quadcopter models that come packing plenty of specialized features and outstanding control options. However, not everything is as shiny as it seems. We have made sure to provide pros and cons along with apt factual reviews for each of the five drones covered below. This is certain to help you shop smarter and stay informed about what each model brings to your drone experiences.

1

Largest Commercial Toy Drone: Syma X6 Super Ship

61FuwNCX2 L. SL1000  1024x683 Best Drones Review : Syma Drones 2015 Collection Reviews

Syma X6 Super Ship is the largest commercial toy drone

Attributes Spec.
Price $69.95
Battery type  7.4 Volts at 850 mAH
Flight Time 6-8 minutes
HD Video Recording Yes (GoPro®)
Still frame definition GoPro®
Communication Distance 30 meters

From its impressive size to an admirable set of features, the X6 is proving to be quite the catch in the drone department. You can attach a GoPro Camera to the device and get it into the air. At 56 cm across, this is justifiably the largest drone on the market. The outer foam protection design safeguards the rotors and perhaps adds to the dimensions mentioned.

The controllers pack diversity. You have two channels: the right controller to direct forward/backward drone movement, and the left controller for up/down as well as left/right drone movement. The 3-Axis Gyro Stabilization System is an exquisite addition to the X6 that keeps it steady even in slightly windy weather; but there are better alternatives out there.

Comparing battery lifespan with the 2nd Generation Phantom, the X6 Super Ship is quite disappointing. The Phantom is heavier and comes ready to handle an amazing battery (5200 mAH) but the X6 is lighter and should be able to stay in the air longer let alone take up a similar high-end battery. In this regard alone the X6 Super Ship does not meet expectations.

PROS:

  • Compared to other giant size drones, the X6 packs more quality.
  • Good customer service
  • Stable flight
  • Stylish look
  • Lightweight but durable

CONS:

  • The standard Li-Po battery capacity for large-scale models of this type is 850 mAH. Syma has increased the dimensions of the X6 without giving it extra battery power, like the 1500 mAH seen in the 2nd generation Parrot drone models. Being bigger but staying in the air for the same time as a smaller drone is indeed a disadvantage.
  • When it comes to flight specs, a 30-meter binding range is an industry low. If it goes out of range, there is no auto-return option to bring it back.

Syma X6 Super Ship 4 Channel 2.4GHz RC Quad Copter w/ Gyro

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; 3D Full Flight: Various control options for those piloting the X6 Up, Down, Left, Right, Forward, Backward, Leftward flight, Rightward flight.; ...

  • Last comments
I did not know exactly what to expect when I purchased this Quad-copter, but for the money I was willing to experiment and see what good it was. I am VERY happy with this Copter. It does everything a regular RC Copter cannot do. I am absolutely amazed at the maneuverability of this Copter and its ability to slide straight sideways, backwards, and forwards is a cut above all of the rest of the RC Copter units. Banking, turning, hovering, vertical, and diagonal movement are extremely easy with this Copter and I just can't get enough of flying this thing. I have some acreage outside of town and go out there every day and fly it and have had a blast taking friends out there and showing them what this thing can do. I am also very pleased at how this unit breaks down easily into components that make it easy to haul around, maintain, and store.The mechanical parts are simple and durable and I have had no problems whatsoever with it having any mechanical problems after having it for more than two months. It seems so many other RC Copters that I have had were marginally good when it came to mechanical reliability and I had to either replace or adjust parts after just a few uses. Another aspect of the design of this Quad-copter is that the prop guards prevent damage in a lot of situations. You don't have to worry about the props getting into tree limps, power lines, walls, or any other obstacles when you get too close to something. It just bumps into the object and bounces off. With any other Copter it would have shredded the blade and then dropped catastrophically to the ground. So not only is this thing extremely precision in its controls, but it also is much less prone to damage in case you do get too close to any object of any kind.Read more ›
April 10, 2014
My son wanted this for his birthday despite the fact that he has few expensive brushless quadcopters already. We were at an auction and it was really cheap (the same price as on Amazon I later found out), so I picked one up. It reminds me of a larger Blade 180 QX or MQX with bumpers. Out of the box, the trims were not centered and it drifted fast. This is common with Proto-x and other toy quads. The TX gives a nice high beep to let you know when you are centered. Once I had them centered, it was only took a couple clicks to get it hovering hands free.The maiden flight was OK. I was expecting the sluggish climbs from the Li-Ion battery and the TX felt like it had a lot of expo added. I pulled a 2S 800 LiPo battery from the collection and plugged it in and then it had some nice power to it. I still had to give the stick more movement that I like, but I am used to more expensive computerized TXs. If the motors start to fail, I might have to look into getting some brushless ESCs and motors for it. I think this would work well with one of the micro FPV kits that are coming out soon.Most importantly, my son loves it. He loves flying the 200 and 350 QX outdoors and his Proto-X and Hubsan X-4 indoors, but this is something big he can fly indoors. He loves the lights on the bottom. I might add some lights for night flying too since the days are getting shorter fast. So if you are looking for a cheap but impressive toy quad that is a lot bigger than the micros that are out there, this one is worth it. It will give you something good to practice your orientations on.
September 19, 2014
OK to update one word (AWSOME) this it has now lasted over 50 flights with orig battery and also 1,000 mah battery. It will last much longer if you break in motors for a full battery pack at lowest throttle setting then let cool completely!!!! Also use a #2 lead(graphite) pencil to lubricate gears.Do not use oil on shafts or gears ,bushings are carbon impregnated.well flying good electrics hovers great blades are larger than wl262 and Also can be flown much faster in high mode if you fly it on diagonal by using right (or left)tilt forward and using opposite rotating to oppose the tilt and to not lose altitude. These little quads are like flying a helicopter with an easier learning curve There is no limits to stunts if you get one with brushless motors and the quad is much smoother easier to hover and fly I'm waiting for one with collective for inverted flight ,they will do loops and rolls not this one though!! ,not as fast as WL262(they eat motors way to quick) or as easy to modify after you remove blade protection . not good for wind but can be flown indoors with large livingroom with high ceiling ,ps watch ceiling fan!!!
January 14, 2015
2

Best Beginner Drone: Syma X5SW

51AXZjXJ80L. SL1000  e1436363631490 1024x563 Best Drones Review : Syma Drones 2015 Collection Reviews

Syma X5SW is the best drone for beginners.

Attributes Spec.
Price $71.00
Battery type  3.7V 500mAh Li-poly
Flight Time 6-7 minutes
HD Video Recording 2 megapixel HD
Communication Distance 100 meters

It is affordable, ideal for beginners, Wi-Fi compatible (through which you can transmit video feed in real time to iOS or Android devices), and has excellent FPV (first person view) capability. The X5SW has a built-in camera that at 2 mpg is quite amazing. The remote controller has a socket to hold your phone to make streaming convenient.

Fresh users do not need to worry about the quadcopter’s orientation thanks to its headless mode feature. With 360-degree 3D rolling options, the X5SW is proving that it has great value for money. You can make it perform turns with ease and simplicity and watch as the gyroscope mechanism smoothens things out mid-flight.

More powerful than the Syma Flagship X5C, this multi-functional drone has better build quality than its predecessor; durable plastic and reinforced landing gear. There are two built-in modes for the remote.

The drone comes equipped with gyro and flashlights for nighttime flying. You can choose between black and white color options. The whole design is shiny and durable, highlighting style and aesthetic appeal.

Its 2.4 GHz Spread Spectrum technology increases range and causes the drone to display faster reaction times (100 times faster than radio control) to your inputs with the remote. Whereas ordinary RC drones can fly to 15 meters, a 2.4 gigahertz powered quadcopter like the X5SW can attain 50 meters.

PROS:

  • The drone is ideal for both indoor and outdoor use
  • A 6-axis gyro feature enhances stability and imparts better wind resistance
  • Smartphone streaming compatibility is quite the smart addition
  • 4 GHz anti-interference technology keeps the drone flying strong no matter how many drones are in the vicinity. This means more copters can fly about simultaneously and yours will remain true to your control

CONS:

  • Flight time is rather short, meaning regular battery changes for which you will need to stock up on replacements

  • Product
  • Deals
  • Photos
  • Last comments
syma x5sw explorers2 24g 4ch 6 axis gyro rc headless quadcopter with 03mp nen05g7q7t80fuopwagvbds4na2ucy556y257xjbs2 Best Drones Review : Syma Drones 2015 Collection Reviews

SYMA

Colorful Flashing Lights Colorful flashing lights make it fun to play during the day time or night both indoor or outdoor Blade Protector Comes equipped with a blade protector for safe flights. ...

Start from: $43.98
amazon Best Drones Review : Syma Drones 2015 Collection Reviews amazon.com
I bought this as an initial trainer to see if drone flying is right for me. So far I'm impressed and no reason not to give this a high rating. The length of flights have been approx. 7-10 minutes, the IPhone App has worked flawlessly and overall I'm very happy. If my attitude changes, I'll update my review but so far I'm more than impressed for the price. JUST NOTE: This is not a high end photography platform. That costs real money but this is a great entry to learn how to fly and position the camera, etc.
August 7, 2015
I am completely blown away by the performance of this quad.It is fairly speedy, easy to maneuver, and best of all easy to learn.The fpv wifi camera, while not having the best picture quality, is still more than adequate for me.I mainly use the camera to help me see where the quad is heading and maintain position.That said I have gotten some decent shots of the area around my home.One thing I would like to mention though is this quad is very light, and will have some trouble with high winds
October 19, 2015
Product was delivered on time and was exactly what I expected battery life is really short so I would recommend buying extra batteries and if your new to flying like I was I would buy extra blade protectors and landing gear. But after a few bad crashes its a lot of fun to fly once you get use to it
September 9, 2015
3

Drone-Lover Favorite: Syma X8C Venture

4 e1436364072238 1024x611 Best Drones Review : Syma Drones 2015 Collection Reviews

Attributes Spec.
Price $96.45
Battery type  3 7.4V 2000mAh Li-on
Flight Time 7 minutes
HD Video Recording Yes (GoPro®) 720p
Still frame definition GoPro®
Communication Distance 50 meters

You get to choose between a standard 2-megapixel camera and a wide-angle 5-megapixel one. The camera is detachabale, meaning you can put one or the other as and when you need. Go Pro is the camera of choice used in the X8C Venture.

Its 6-axis gyro feature complements great stability when you use the varied movement options available for the X8C Venture (up, down. left-sideways, right-sideways, forward, backward, left-turns, right-turns).

The 360-degree 3D flight feature is quite attractive, as also is the continuous rolling option. Whether you go for normal drone cameras or sportive DV ones, they are compatible with the X8C Venture.

PROS:

  • It can capture videos as well as photos
  • Compatible with different cameras
  • Exceptional stability and functionality
  • Diverse control options
  • Competent 2.4 GHz wireless remote control
  • Exquisitely stylish

CONS:

  • While brushless motors were expected with the X8C Venture, it is designed instead with brushed motors.

Syma X8C Venture with 2MP Wide Angle Camera 2.4G 4CH RC Quadcopter - Black

$71.80

Enter your model number to make sure this fits.; Intelligent Orientation Control (IOC) system - The Syma X8C has the Intelligent Orientation Control (IOC) function. Usually, the forward direction of ...

Made by: SYMA, Available: In stock
4

The Hobbyists’s Choice: Syma X11

71rO5NV2rEL. SL1500  e1436372261482 1024x698 Best Drones Review : Syma Drones 2015 Collection Reviews

 

Attributes Spec.
Price $27.58
Battery type  3.7V 200mAh Li-poly
Flight Time 5-8 minutes
HD Video Recording 2 megapixel HD
Communication Distance 30 meters

One of the best in the small-scale series of drones, the X11 is intuitive, has propeller guards, and great value for money. This micro-sized quadcopter can be used both indoors and outdoors and is quite convenient to fly thanks to the ‘thumb control’ remote type.

One special feature about the X11 is that is uses geared motors, ensuring more stable flights and capability to handle better and bigger propellers. With only 35 minutes needed to charge using a USB, you can start flying with the X11 with no big delays.

Users will appreciate the LED flashlights under the drone indicating that the remote is in range. Hovering or full-fledged flight is simple and easy, which is why hobbyists will adore the X11. A ‘flip’ button on the upper right side of the transmitter makes for a fun feature but use it outdoors only and away from obstacles. Remember that the ‘hi-lo’ mode influences this feature’s performance.

PROS:

  • Convenient flying.
  • Value for money.
  • Stable even in slightly windy weather
  • Compact.
  • Has geared motors unlike other micro-sized quadcopters.

CONS:

  • Delicate propellers; avoid damage or they will break.
  • Spare parts yet to become available from manufacturer.
  • Gears accumulate lint, dust, hair, etc. Needs regular maintenance.

5

For Outdoor Adventure Fans: Syma X5C Explorer

51paKrRWABL. SL1000  1024x683 Best Drones Review : Syma Drones 2015 Collection Reviews

Attributes Spec.
Price $51.00
Battery type  3.7V 500mAh LiPo
Flight Time 7 minutes
HD Video Recording 2 megapixel HD
Communication Distance 50 meters

With the flip of a switch, the remote can be changed to accomodate left or right hand throttles. The 2.4 GHz control fits well in hand but you need to purchase the AA battery for it separately.

Equipped with Spread Spectrum technology, the remote control range is greatly improved. At 50 meters, this is an amazing addition to the X5C Explorer. You will find some of the fastest controls on this drone and speedy reaction times too. When it comes to agility, this drone lives up to expectations; for instance, full 360-degree flips are quite possible.

Wind gusts and obstacles are easy to avoid or maneuver, as the case may be, thanks to the X5C’s 6-axis gyroscope feature that imparts outstanding stabilization to the drone. It weighs only 2 pounds and while this is light and compact, avoids using the Explorer if wind speeds exceed 20 mph.

The fact that it comes with a modular design means parts and components can readily be replaced, switched out for different pieces, and so on. Such versatility adds to the X5C’s value for money.

Propeller protection takes the form of guards that keep the blades reasonably secure if or when you crash the drone. Crash tests into trees and pavements, even lakes, have proven that the X5C explorer is a tough cookie and flew on after, without any damage to the propellers.

While the camera is not as good as a GoPro it can still capture 2 megapixel HD pictures and video footage and comes along with a 2 GB Micro SD card from the manufacturer. At 30 fps (frames per second) and 1280 x 720 picture/video resolution, you cannot ask for more.

PROS:

  • For such a small model, 7 minutes of flight time reflects positively on battery life, which you upgrade or extend; quite flexible indeed
  • Designed with advanced control technology
  • Highly stable
  • Ideal for indoor and outdoor use
  • Wide communication range

CONS:

  • For only 7 minutes of flight time, a 70 to 100 minute charging timer is unreasonable
  • The motor needs time to cool down
  • Gears are exposed to open air and can therefore accumulate dust and debris, warranting constant maintenance or the motor will lose power

SYMA X5C Explorers 2.4G 4CH 6-Axis Gyro RC Quadcopter With HD Camera

$39.78 63.99

Main Features: 6-axis Gyro stabilization system makes the helicopter more stable and flexible when flying. Wind resistant and can be flown indoors or outdoors Modular design structure is applied, ...

Available: In stock
  • Photos
  • Last comments
Best Quadcopter to date for the money! The picture attached shows the SYMA quadcopter up about 200 feet or more. The house on the left with the orange roof is on a hill about 75 feet above me and my transmitter and as you can see I am way above that roof. I have 2 helicopters, 2 hubsan quadcopters, 1 with a 2mp camera and one without. I purchased the SYMA x5c from an Ebay seller who was in Calif. Didn't want to wait the 30-45days from China. The Syma came with the landing gear attached, I didn't need to install the blade guards because I am a veteran RC pilot. I used one of the already charged batteries from my hubsan. Yes they fit fairly well but flight time is less because they are only 380ma. The SYMA X5 flies great, better than the hubsan x4 and it is twice the size so you can see it better in the sky. Camera works great, the directions say to use the top right button but that is incorrect, the SYMA X5c is the newer model and there is a slide button on the front panel, slide it up to take a photo, slide it down to turn on the video. Video is 1280x 720 avi files. Same as the hubsan in HD. Here are my Pro's and Cons:Pros:Copter handles beautiful, love the feel, fun to flyMore stable than any $60 quad I have flown.Read more ›
January 9, 2015
I'm not a quadcopter expert by any means, but I have flown a number of different models. The Syma X5C-1 is the best handling and easiest to fly of any of the entry level quadcopters I have flown. I like the UDI U818A and have three. They are fun to fly, forgiving, and have survived many crashes. However, since I bought the Symas, I now have two X5C-1s, I rarely fly the U818A. The X5C-1 is more stable, easier to hover, handles the wind better, and can survive some rough treatment. It will carry an 808 Keychain camera if you want upgraded video, but will not fly well with a Mobius or anything heaver. With a little practice, it can be flown inside or out.It can be equipped for first person view. I recently mounted a Spektrum Ultra Micro FPV Camera & VTX (SPMVA1100) atop one of my X5C-1s and I'm getting some great FPV video through a remote monitor I mounted atop the Syma transmitter. I highly recommend the X5C-1 as a great beginner quadcopter!
June 3, 2015
Great little drone. I suggest starting out in the middle of the floor of the largest room you have and taking it about 2 feet of the ground. Trim it so it doesn't drift right left forward or backward and then just practice moving it around WITHOUT CHANGING THE THROTTLE until you get the hang of it. It's easy to control but I'm still trying to get the hang of making it go the direction I want it to go when I'm not right behind it. I have about 10 batteries so I've probably flown it for several hours in the house. .I happen to be quite the expert in the crashworthiness of this particular drone, I have crashed it into just about everything in the house (including the back of my wifes head). I have partially submerged it in a sink full of dirty dish water and dishes (submerged one prop/motor completely, ran fine after that). My many crashes make it sound like it's hard to control but the truth is I just keep trying to do tougher and tougher maneuvers with it. I've hit everything from chandeliers, to oil lamps (not lit) to the wood burner, couches, chairs, walls, lamps, windows, ceilings, ceiling fans and pretty much every table in the house. One thing I will say that is an added bonus is that when you crash it into something, it doesn't leave marks. (like for instance if you crash it full speed into the wall like I have skillfully managed to accomplish several times). We're trying to sell our house so my wife cringed when I first start bouncing it off of everything but hey, not a mark on anything it bounced off of, I was amazed. It probably also helped that I summoned all my skills and hovered over her for ten seconds the other night and helped her relieve one of her hot flashes with the significant downdraft this thing puts out.Read more ›
December 29, 2014

Leave a comment

2 Comments
  1. Reply Leila August 25, 2015 at 10:38 pm

    A tale of two Syma 107s.I have 2 nearly idnctieal looking Syma 107 helicopters, one is red and the other is yellow. I have burned out (melted) one USB charger while trying to use it to charge the yellow copter, after a short period the blades started turning slowly and the copter was warm and the USB charger was melted. The yellow copter charges ok from its control and the red copter charges ok from its controler.This wall charger charges the red copter quickly, but overheats and causes the blades to turn when charging the yellow copter.It turns out that the two copters, and their respective controlers are wired backwards in polarity from one another. On the red copter the plug on the side is plus toward the tail, while the yellow has plus toward the front. Possibly the yellow copter is a knock off , but it looks authentic and flies great!Update: I have tried the charger on more Syma 107s (one more Yellow and one Blue) as well as a Syma 026G chinook, it charges them well, so I must conclude that the *one* Yellow 107 that does not charge (polarity reversed) is the oddball .Some differences:Oddball has a red led, rather than green on the heli main board.Oddball lights a red led, rather than green on the remote control, when it is on, and not charging.Oddball tail blade has two squarish corners, rather than all rounded.Oddball heli bottom plate does not cover all of the small components (some resistors show)

    • Reply Drones Review Admin September 7, 2015 at 7:16 am

      Thanks you so much about your experiences.
      I hope you will have a good time with best Drones . ^^

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: